Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:49 p.m. - 2004-03-10
Hockey Hell
Who likes hockey?

I do. I like the fast paced action of the game, I like the skill that�s involved and I, like most hockey fans, like the fighting. What hockey fan hasn�t gasped with a smile when a good punch is laid on in a mid-game scruffle? Who hasn�t cheered on their own team while they pummel the other? Who doesn�t get a chill when the gloves come off?

With that said, I�m absolutely perplexed at some people�s reactions to the whole "Bertuzzi Scandal". I mean, come on guys? What the hell did you expect?

People are calling this guy a common thug, a criminal and a disgrace to the game. People are accusing him of a premeditated, vicious hit that was revenge for a previous hit to one of his teammates. People are calling for life time suspensions, criminal charges and fines up the wazoo. I say the guy is simply a hockey player with a lot of bad luck.

Moore could have landed a hundred different ways that didn�t end up breaking his neck. Bertuzzi might have just used a little more power than he meant to. Is anyone actually thick enough to believe that an NHL hockey player would, purposely and with criminal intent, want to put another player in the hospital knowing that it would probably end his career and ruin his life? I know hockey players aren�t reputed for being geniuses, but that borders on the level of clinical moron.

We�ve come to expect violence from our hockey games. We cheer it on, we revel in it, but when someone gets hurt, really hurt, we backtrack about a thousand miles and accuse the poor guy of being some kind of Satan-worshipping, neo-nazi, supervillain who doesn�t deserve the skin that he was born in.

Uh, hypocritical much?

So, I say to all those na�ve, whining Bertuzzi-bashers that it�s time to look at what we�ve come to expect from a game and from the players and how that�s going to affect the way that they play and the way that they fight. I�m reminded of the big paparazzi debate that came about after Princess Di�s big car wreck years ago. Whose fault was it? That of the people who were taking the pictures, or that of the people who craved those pictures in the first place?

As a final note, I still think Bertuzzi deserves some sort of suspension or fine or whatever. Wherever we want to place the blame for the punch, he did it and it did end up hurting someone a lot. We don�t want all the players thinking that the "Bertuzzi Blow" is the answer to their problems.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!