Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:28 p.m. - 2002-10-15
mmmm....stuffing.
I had turkey yesterday. Sweet as.

Now I realize that this probably doesn't come as much of a shock to anyone, it having been turkey day and all, but I was pleasantly surprised and quite heartened when I got my turkey dinner. And I didn't even need to cook or clean up.

See, the Fish House people actually did something quite thoughtful yesterday. They prepared a big-ass (yes big ASS) turkey dinner for everyone who was working that night. I had no clue that management had a heart (I had always envisioned black pieces of coal that pumped blood).

And it was sooooo good.

There were two 12 pounder turkeys (juicily tasty), mashed potatoes, scalloped potatoes, greek salad, pasta salad, stuffing (and not the stove top in a box kind, either), gravy and cornbread. They even opened up a few bottles of wine for us all. You could have coloured me impressed all the way to the kitchen and back.

I love turkey dinners. They generally imply fun family gatherings, which my family has been lacking of late. Either someone is working or, you know, living in a foreign country or something silly like that. It's sad that we don't get to do them too often anymore. I suppose the only advantage to it is that we tend to appreciate the time we have together more so now. It's so limited.

And my family is growing. We recently added a sibling (I finally have a sister, in law or otherwise) and everyone is keeping their fingers crossed for some grand-kids/nieces or nephews soon (will they pleeeeeease get on with it?!?!). So, it's all good, I guess.

The point is...I had turkey. And it made me happy.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!