Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:28 a.m. - 2003-11-27
We love you Kristen, oh yes we do.
Everyone...Kristen needs big hugs right now.

Go!

4:30 p.m. - 2003-11-26
Alcohol - my permanent accessory
All right, today I will do work. Right after I finish this.

Yesterday was a write off, and it all comes back to the known fact that I have a fondness for inebriation. You could call me a party animal, you could call me a dirty drunk. I like to think of it simply as a distaste for sobriety.

On top of all this, I�m a night person. I always have been. I hate going to bed before midnight, so I very rarely do. Not surprisingly, I am NOT a morning person. Mornings and I have a mutual understanding: I hate them and they hate me. Most importantly, however, I am a sleep person � I don�t function well without a lot of it. I�ve never been very good at the �All Nighter�. Because of all this, my life as a 9 to 5er, and the subsequent necessity of waking up every morning at 7, has not mingled well with my particular choice of lifestyle. Especially when you add to the mix my night job as a fish waitress.

So, after a long day at both the office and the Fish, which often means 10 to 12 hours of work, I don�t necessarily want to just go straight home and to bed. It�s the night person in me � I need to enjoy my night before I can give it up with sleep. I need to wind down, and this often takes the form of dinner and a beer at the Fish House bar (also known as Shucker�s). Generally, it�s just one beer, but sometimes, it�s more.

See, as far as I�m concerned, any day of the week is a perfectly good night to enjoy the sin of self-indulgence. Why relegate such things to merely the weekend and dismiss five whole other days? I admit that my having to get up early the next day and be a productive member of the workforce is a good reason why Monday night parties aren�t the best idea in the world. But what does that matter when I�ve got a pint of Keith�s and someone to enjoy it with?

I love beer, but it really does make me do the stupidest things.

I currently have a third of a big-ass keg of beer sitting on my balcony. So, Monday night, I invited some people over to help get rid of it. We drank. Then we drank some more. Then we played crazy eight�s�while still drinking. I don�t remember exactly when I went to bed, but I think it was starting to get light outside.

Suffice it to say I didn�t get much sleep before I had to wake up at 7 that morning.

I came to work Tuesday morning feeling like I was in some sort of weird dream. Everything floated past me in a haze and every time I slowly blinked, the urge to keep my eyes closed grew stronger and stronger. I weaseled my way into an extended lunch (a whole hour) and went back to the folks� place for a 30 minute nap. It didn�t really help. I was exhausted. I couldn�t get anything done. I was useless.

Ah alcohol. Both the cause of and cure to all of life�s problems.

12:08 p.m. - 2003-11-26
filler entry...with links!
Life really is confusing, Kristen, but I don�t think you have to resort to implying Avril Lavigne is �Wise�. That�s going a little too far, I think.

You�re a very subtle woman, Jacquie. Subtle like a freight train.

Sometime in the not-too-distant future, I will put Samarra in a big yellow box.

That is all for now.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!