Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:55 p.m. - 2002-03-22
Northland part 2
Ok...where was I since I last left?

I believe I was talking about sand boarding down the dunes near the 90 mile beach.

90 mile beach is actually quite misleading, apparently it's only about 53 miles or so long. 90 kilometre beach would be more accurate. Anyhow, we were driving down the beach and it was quite lovely. The surf was very strong there, so there were a lot of big waves. I love waves. Sometimes I feel like I could look at them for hours, since they're kind of hypmotizing. But I was on the wrong side of the bus, so I didn't have a great view, and my book kept calling to me.

I had a very vivid memory of when I was about 14 and my parents took me to California. We spent a couple of days driving down the coast on the way to San Francisco. My parents were very annoyed with me because, as we drove past some pretty beautiful scenery, I had my nose stuck in a book. I remember it was Patriot Games. They would ooh and aah, and then look back and tell me I should be looking up.

Anyhow, we drove along the beach for a while (and I did look up every now and then to take a look at the beach and the waves, so all was good). Then we started the journey home. On the way, we stopped for some cheap fish and chips, which were abosolutely amazing. I haven't had fish and chips for quite a while (which might seem odd since I worked at the Fish House, but there I always stayed away from the fried fish). Anyhow, it was very very good. I was pleased. It was quite a nice day, all in all.

That night, I had meant to read my book all night again, only this time I bought myself a bottle of wine to go with it. I ended up chatting with a nice guy named Dave, and we went to a small bar/club in the main town. It was very pleasant evening.

The next day, back to Auckland where I happened to meet up with a girl I had met on the Kiwi bus. We hung out for a bit and then I went to bed (after reading some more).

So, nothing really has happened since then. I've been pretty lazy about sightseeing in Auckland, and I've been reading a lot. I'm finished the second book of Lord of the Rings, and I'm on the third. It's quite exciting.

So, yeah. That's about it from me. I can't believe I leave New Zealand tomorrow. I can't believe I've been here for almost 5 weeks. I can't believe I'm going to have to back to work soon. Ugh.

As usual, I hope everything is well with all of you at home. I miss you lots and love you all.

Take care.

xxx ooo

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!